

Board of Directors 2018

Margaret Thomas President

Ralph Lewis Past President

Phil Resor Vice President

Christoph Geiss Web Coordinator

James (Drew) Hyatt Secretary

Harold (Fritz) Moritz Treasurer

Directors

Nicholas Hastings Shawn Poff Janet Stone Dan Vellone Mike Wizevich

GEOLOGICAL SOCIETY OF CONNECTICUT

PO Box 94, Hadlyme, CT 06439 www.geologicalsocietyct.org geosocietyct@gmail.com

Annual Meeting – Approved Minutes - November 9, 2018

Trinity College

Hamlin Hall & McCook Auditorium 4:00-8:30 pm

Order of Business

Trinity Welcome [CG]

• Greetings and welcome were provided from CG with additional remarks from Dr. Tim Cresswell, Dean of Faculty

Presidents Greeting & BOD Roll Call [MT]

- MT introduced board members, and summarized the evening's agenda.
- MT also shared GSC outcomes from the past year and indicated plans for future activities

Treasury Report [HM]

- HM presented the society treasurer's report (see attached business meeting slides), reporting that the GSC is in sound financial shape.
- He noted that donations and raffle outcomes support the student scholarship fund.

Membership [JS]

- JS summarized membership totals and indicating that the society is moving towards a new membership management software.
- She reminded members that there will be an electronic invitation to renew membership coming in the new year.

AAC Acknowledgement & Invitation [PR]

• PR reported on a meeting of the academic advisory committee in the fall describing points of discussion and new initiatives.

Student Research Fund Program [RL]

- RL announced recent student research grant recipients including:
 - Ryan Ordung, Univ. of Connecticut. Microbial tracers in groundwater flow. (supervisor: Dr. Gary Robbins)
 - Mark Higgins, Univ. of Connecticut. Farm related sources of Arsenic in GW; using DNA gene sequencing. (supervisor: Dr. Gary Robbins)
 - Andrew Michel, Univ. of Cincinnati. Geochronology of Stamford and Pound Ridge Granites. (supervisor: Dr. Craig Dietsch)
 - Alexis Zanger & Sam March, Trinity College. Pyrrhotite Content in Metamorphic Rocks, Northeastern CT. (supervisor: Dr. Christoph Geiss)

Elections [DH]

- DH reported on the nomination process and results for new board members
- The BOD had put forth a roster of 4 candidates. No additional nominations were received and accordingly the following individuals were elected to the board:
 - Janet Stone, Retired Geologist, USGS
 - > Phil Resor, Professor, Wesleyan University
 - Ralph Lewis, Retired, Former State Geologist, DEEP
 - > Drew Hyatt, Professor, Eastern CT. State University
 - Harold Fritz Moritz, Retired Environmental Consultant

Joe Webb Peoples Award [MT]

- MT introduced this year's Joe Webb Peoples award recipient, Dr. Robert Wintsch, noting his many contributions to the understanding of the bedrock Geology of Connecticut.
- Dr. Wintsch accepted the award and offered remarks.

Keynote Address [PEO]

- The audience moved to the presentation hall to conduct a raffle with proceeds going to the student research award. Following the raffle,
- MT introduced the keynote speaker, Dr. Paul Olsen, Storke Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences, Columbia University, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory.
- Dr. Olsen delivered his address entitled "Arctic Ice and the Ecological Rise of Dinosaurs."

Attachment: Business Meeting PowerPoint Slides

